Prairie Baby

~growing moms and dads, one baby at a time~

EASY (!!) Lazy Sunday Baby Booties (crochet) January 25, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — drkellywelch @ 6:36 pm
Tags: , ,

Lazy Sunday Baby Booties

I’m going to be a first-time grandma in about 4 months!

But I have a confession to make: I’ve been readying for this day for about 4 years. Yep. I’m probably the originator of the Baby Maker blanket…I’ve been embroidering and crocheting and sewing baby blankets for years, just so I’d be ready when this day finally came (who says I’m not OCD?! Besides, all my friends have told me I’d better be prepared because when one grandbaby comes, the others follow in quick succession! <HINT, WELCH BOYS, HINT>)

You’ll find this oh-so-easy baby bootie crochet pattern here. You can whip these up within an hour. They use hardly any yarn at all…I have quite a few yarn scraps from other projects, so I made up a basket of lil’ booties for my new grandbaby!  The possibilities are endless on this one.

If you have never in your life picked up a crochet hook, go HERE. This woman is FABULOUS at teaching crochet stitches, from very beginners to advanced. If you’re right handed, type in something like “Right hand half double crochet stitch” for a tutorial. For lefties (like me! And it’s nearly impossible to find good lessons for lefties!), type in “Left hand half double crochet stitch.” She even does it in slow motion for us slow learners! Love it!

Lazy Sunday Baby Booties (crochet)

Materials you’ll need:

  • scrap yarn
  • crochet hook (I used a size H because that’s what I had on hand)
  • large-eye yarn needle
  • scissors
  • about 24 inches of ribbon (you don’t need this—you can use yarn)
  • a really good Lifetime Original Movie on TV in the background
  • a venti Starbuck’s salted caramel hot chocolate

Pattern:

  • chain 25
  • half double crochet (HDC) in 2nd chain from hook and in each chain across; chain 2, turn
  • half double crochet (HDC) in 2nd chain from hook and continue with HDC across each stitch in the row; chain 2, turn
  • repeat 3rd step
  • repeat 3rd step
  • repeat 3rd step; DO NOT chain 2, turn
  • slip stitch in each of the first 5 stitches; *HDC in next stitch, chain 1, leave next stitch empty. Repeat from * across to last 4 stitches in the row; HDC in 4th stitch from the end; chain 2, turn

The bootie after the first 5 rows. (for left handed crocheters)

The bootie after row 6 is completed. These are the spaces you will weave a ribbon through when the bootie is completed.

  • HDC in each stitch across, chain 2, turn
  • repeat 8th step
  • repeat 8th step

The completed bootie (well, almost!)

Do you want a little border or edging on top? If so, keep going:
  • single crochet in the 1st stitch from the hook, chain 3
  • single crochet in the next 2 stitches
  • single crochet in the next stitch, chain 3
Repeat this across the top.

The bootie with picot edging (works for boy or girl)

When you get to the end, DO NOT fasten off the yarn.
Fold the bootie in half. Measure out the length of yarn you think it will take to sew the bootie’s edges together (use you best guestimate). Slip the end of the yarn through the loop, creating a slip knot to fasten the end without cutting the yarn.

Whip-stitch the edges of the bootie together (don’t pull the yarn too tightly or the bootie will pucker), lining up the edges of the stitches as best as you can.

Whip stitch the edges together.

Fasten off.

Weave the ends of the yarn into the crocheted edges.

Turn the bootie to the right side. Cut about 12 inches of ribbon. Weave the ribbon through the spaces and tie a bow.

And there you go–very easy Lazy Sunday Baby Booties! Make up a basket of these for the next baby shower you attend. As all moms know, you can never have enough booties in the beginning!

From my heart to yours~~ 

k

As I’m sitting here, I just figured out how to turn this patten into Baby “Ugg” booties with buttons! FUN! Will whip up a pair and post soon!

 

15 Responses to “EASY (!!) Lazy Sunday Baby Booties (crochet)”

  1. Autumn Shea Says:

    Omgosh! These are ADORABLE! The ribbon ties totally MAKE them. :-) Thanks for sharing. I’ll be “pinning” these on Pinterest.

  2. drkellywelch Says:

    Aren’t they just so yummy?! I made all of these in one afternoon—and I’m no crocheter by any stretch of the imagination!

    I’ve figured out a way to extend the pattern to make “Uggs”! As soon as I have a spare hour, I’ll work some up and post them! Too fun!

  3. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the long run and it is time to be happy. I have read this put up and if I may just I desire to counsel you few fascinating issues or suggestions. Maybe you could write next articles regarding this article. I wish to learn even more things about it!

  4. [...] first started with this basic pattern. By adding boot “flaps” that fold over, a bit of fake fur, and some funky buttons, I whipped up [...]

  5. tanveer Says:

    But in half double crochet dont we start from third chain from hook….confused i m a beginner crocheter

  6. valerie Says:

    Thank you, these are lovely! I knit and crochet for a preemie baby ward at a hospital and these are exactly what I was looking for!

  7. linda smith Says:

    love this pattern soooocute thanks

  8. brittany Says:

    Do you know what the measurements would be for this pattern for 0-3 3-6 and 6-12? Would be greatly appreciated

    • alexa Says:

      and I made a pair for my baby before she was born, she was tiny (6 lbs), they fit perfectly. when she was about 4 months, 0-3 mos clothing was finally fitting her. I added 4 stitches to the pattern and they were just a little too big. hope that helps:)

    • drkellywelch Says:

      Hi Brittany!

      What I did was just increase the hook size, and that made the booties larger. I use a smaller hook size for preemies.

      Hope this helps! :)
      k

  9. alycia Says:

    Love these!!! I have already whipped up one pair. Can’t wait to make more. Perfect easy present since we have 3 new babies coming in our family. Thank you!

  10. April Kegley Says:

    How can you make these in bigger sizes to have as your baby grows? These are newborn right? Thanks :)

    • drkellywelch Says:

      Hi April! To increase sizes for my granddaughter (who’s now 13 months old), I just used a bigger hook. But you can also add 3-5 stitches to the pattern (this would increase the length of the bottom of the bootie). You can add 3 chains for sizes 3-6 months, and 5 chains for 6-12 months. Let me know if this doesn’t work!

      Alexa says this: and I made a pair for my baby before she was born, she was tiny (6 lbs), they fit perfectly. when she was about 4 months, 0-3 mos clothing was finally fitting her. I added 4 stitches to the pattern and they were just a little too big. hope that helps:)

      Happy hooking! :)
      k

  11. Caitlin Says:

    Those were super easy to make! I made a pair as soon as I found this pattern! Thanks for sharing :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,897 other followers